AI Certifications
Which AI certifications employers recognise and what the hiring and pay evidence shows: the cloud, governance, audit, security and platform credentials, what each costs, which exams have retired, and which credential suits which role.
Quick answer: The AI certifications employers most clearly recognise are the role-based cloud certifications from AWS, Microsoft and Google Cloud, because cloud partner programmes count certified staff towards the partner’s status and Lightcast describes AWS and Microsoft cloud certifications as “common” in generative AI job ads. For AI governance roles, the IAPP AIGP is the certification job ads name most often: 15 of 439 AI governance postings in one published sample. The caveat that matters most: employers pay more for AI skills than for AI certificates, and Foote Partners’ pay index found 89 uncertified AI skills averaged a 15 per cent pay premium against 8.1 per cent for 21 AI certifications (ADTmag).
This page covers credentials and whether employers recognise them. For what AI roles pay, see AI salaries; for the routes into AI work, see AI career paths. For the wider market, start at the AI jobs hub.
Do employers actually recognise AI certifications?
Employers pay for AI skills; the evidence that they pay for AI certifications specifically is much thinner. The independent data points in one direction.
Skills beat certificates on pay.
- Foote Partners, 2025: across 4,722 employers, 89 uncertified AI skills averaged a 15 per cent premium on base pay, while 21 AI-related certifications averaged 8.1 per cent. The top 23 uncertified AI skills paid 19 to 23 per cent; the top ten AI certifications paid 9 to 11 per cent (ADTmag, 5 August 2025).
- Foote Partners, 2026: across 5,112 North American employers, with pay data to 1 April 2026, uncertified IT skills earned premiums of 20 to 24 per cent of base salary and the leading certifications earned 11 to 18 per cent (Network World, 19 May 2026). These 2026 ranges cover all IT skills and certifications, not AI alone.
- Lightcast: job ads that ask for AI skills offer 28 per cent more pay, about $18,000 a year, and 51 per cent of those ads are outside IT (Lightcast, 23 July 2025). Lightcast’s analysis is about skills and does not measure certifications.
Job ads rarely name a specific AI certification.
- AI governance: in 439 AI governance job ads collected between 20 July and 25 August 2026 (83 per cent US-based), the IAPP AIGP appeared 15 times (2 required, 13 preferred), CIPP 12 times, CRISC and CISSP 9 times each and CISA 6 times (EXEC CHART, 28 August 2026). AIGP was the most-named certification in that sample, and it still appeared in only about 3 per cent of the ads. EXEC CHART is a newsletter that names no author, and its count has not been replicated.
- Generative AI engineering: Lightcast says AWS and Microsoft cloud certifications are “common” in generative AI job ads but publishes no count (Lightcast).
- No independent count has been published for how often AWS, Microsoft, Google Cloud or NVIDIA AI certifications appear in job ads.
Displaying a certificate helps a little, and helps the least-employable most. A randomised trial of more than 800,000 Coursera certificate earners in developing countries by Susan Athey and Emil Palikot found that making it easier to share a certificate on LinkedIn raised new employment by about 1.0 percentage point, about 6 per cent; learners in the bottom third by predicted employability gained about 12 per cent, while the top third gained almost nothing (arXiv).
Credentials rarely decide hiring on their own. Harvard Business School and the Burning Glass Institute found that firms dropping degree requirements changed hiring in fewer than 1 in 700 hires (Harvard Kennedy School, 2024).
The surveys that sound more positive come from companies that sell training or exams.
| Claim | Who says it | Why to weigh it carefully |
|---|---|---|
| 92% of employers are more likely to hire someone with a generative AI credential | Coursera Micro-Credentials Impact Report 2025 | Coursera sells those credentials; stated intention, not hiring data |
| 32% of certified candidates got a raise; plans to take an AI/ML certification rose from 17% (2022) to 35% (2024) | Pearson VUE Value of IT Certification 2025 | Pearson VUE delivers certification exams; survey of candidates, not employers |
| 71% of leaders would rather hire a less experienced candidate with AI skills | Microsoft and LinkedIn Work Trend Index 2024 | Measures AI skills, not certifications; Microsoft sells AI certifications |
| Employers would pay IT workers with AI skills 47% more | AWS and Access Partnership, November 2023 | Stated willingness to pay, not measured pay; AWS sells AI certifications |
What this means: a certification is worth buying when it is the cheapest proof of a skill an employer is already hiring for, or when your employer’s partner status depends on it. It is not a substitute for work you can show.
The main AI certification families
The evidence that employers ask for a specific AI certification is thin, so the families below are grouped by role rather than ranked.
| Certification family | Who it suits | Exam price | Evidence of employer recognition | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cloud role-based AI certifications (AWS, Microsoft, Google Cloud) | Engineers and architects building on one cloud | $100 to $300 | Strongest. Cloud partner programmes count certified staff; Lightcast calls AWS and Microsoft certifications “common” in generative AI ads | Anyone whose employer, or target employer, runs on that cloud |
| IAPP AIGP | Privacy, legal, compliance and AI governance staff | $649 members, $799 non-members | Most-named certification in a 439-ad AI governance sample (15 ads) | AI governance roles |
| ISACA AI credentials (AAIA, AAISM, AAIR) | Experienced auditors, security managers and risk staff | $459 members, $599 non-members, plus $50 application | Borrowed from the parent credentials they require: CRISC, CISSP and CISA each appear in AI governance ads | Auditors and security leads who already hold CISA, CISM or CISSP |
| Platform certifications (NVIDIA, Databricks, Salesforce) | Engineers on that platform | $125 to $500 | No independent job-ad count published; recognised inside each platform’s ecosystem | Roles built around one platform |
| Security certifications with AI coverage (GIAC, CompTIA SecAI+) | Security engineers | $999 per GIAC attempt without training; SecAI+ price not published by CompTIA | GIAC is an ISO/IEC 17024 accredited certification body; no AI-specific hiring data yet | Security staff adding AI to an existing specialism |
| Course certificates (Google AI Essentials, Google AI Professional Certificate, IBM on Coursera) | Beginners and career changers | $49 a month on Coursera | Small, measured effect from sharing certificates on LinkedIn (Athey and Palikot) | A first, low-cost signal on a thin CV |
| AI-lab credentials (Anthropic, OpenAI) | Partner staff (Anthropic); ChatGPT users (OpenAI) | $125 for Anthropic’s Architect exam; OpenAI’s courses give completion certificates | Too new for any hiring evidence | Staff at Anthropic partner firms |
| Independent “certified AI” bodies (USAII, ARTiBA, Blockchain Council) | Marketed to everyone | $199 to $1,450 | A credential named Certified Artificial Intelligence Scientist tops a Foote Partners pay list (see below) | Check the three points below before buying |
Cloud AI certifications: AWS, Microsoft and Google Cloud
Cloud certifications have the clearest employer demand of any AI credential, for a structural reason. Microsoft’s Data & AI (Azure) partner designation awards 4 skilling points per certified person, up to 10 people and 40 points, for certifications including Azure AI Engineer Associate and Azure Data Scientist Associate (Microsoft Learn). Consultancies that resell a cloud therefore hire and fund certified staff to keep their partner status. Tata Consultancy Services committed in November 2023 to certify more than 25,000 employees in AWS generative AI (People Matters).
Pick the cloud your employer runs. A Google Cloud certification carries little weight at an AWS-only employer, and the reverse.
AWS AI certifications
All AWS certifications are valid for 3 years, and recertifying earns a 50 per cent discount voucher (AWS FAQ).
| Certification | Exam | Level | Price | Length | Experience AWS recommends | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AWS Certified AI Practitioner | AIF-C01 | Foundational | $100 | 90 min, 65 questions | Up to 6 months of AI/ML exposure on AWS; no prerequisites | Active |
| AWS Certified Machine Learning Engineer – Associate | MLA-C01 | Associate | $150 | 130 min, 65 questions | 1 year with Amazon SageMaker | Retiring. The last English sitting was 28 September 2026; all languages retire when MLA-C02 becomes generally available in early 2027 |
| MLA-C02 (new version) | MLA-C02 | Associate | $75 during beta | 170 min, 85 questions (beta) | 1 year with SageMaker AI and Amazon Bedrock | Beta since 29 September 2026; adds generative AI, agentic and LLM topics |
| AWS Certified Generative AI Developer – Professional | AIP-C01 | Professional | $300 | 180 min, 75 questions | 2 years building production applications plus 1 year of hands-on generative AI | Generally available since the beta closed on 31 March 2026 |
| AWS Certified AI Business Strategist | AIB-C01 | Business | $50 during beta ($100 standard) | 170 min, 85 questions (beta) | About 6 months near AI initiatives; no coding | Beta; no general-availability date announced |
AWS Certified Machine Learning – Specialty (MLS-C01) is retired. The last exam day was 31 March 2026, and holders stay certified for 3 years from the date they earned it (AWS). Holders of the Machine Learning – Specialty reported a global average salary of $171,725 in Skillsoft’s IT Skills and Salary survey of 2024 (Skillsoft); that figure is the average pay of holders, not a measure of what the certification caused.
Microsoft AI certifications
Microsoft retired its three best-known AI certifications in mid-2026. Azure Data Scientist Associate (DP-100) retired on 1 June 2026, and Azure AI Engineer Associate (AI-102) and Azure AI Fundamentals (AI-900) retired on 30 June 2026 (Microsoft Learn). Microsoft says certifications earned before retirement keep counting towards partner requirements for one year after the retirement date (Microsoft Learn).
Associate and Expert certifications renew free each year through an online assessment; Fundamentals certifications do not expire (Microsoft Learn). Associate and Expert exams are “typically US$165”, according to Microsoft’s FAQ; prices vary by country (Microsoft Learn).
| Certification | Exam | Level | Length | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Azure AI Fundamentals | AI-901 | Fundamentals | Not stated | Replaced AI-900; now focused on Microsoft Foundry and Python |
| Azure AI Apps and Agents Developer Associate | AI-103 | Associate | 120 min | The developer certification after AI-102’s retirement. Microsoft’s certification page does not describe it as AI-102’s replacement |
| Machine Learning Operations Engineer Associate | AI-300 | Associate | 120 min, English only | Covers machine learning and generative AI operations; Microsoft’s page does not describe it as DP-100’s replacement |
| Multi-Agent AI Solutions Expert | AI-500 | Expert | Not stated | Requires the AI-103 certification |
| AI Business Professional | AB-730 | Beginner | 45 min | Microsoft 365 Copilot for business users |
| AI Transformation Leader | AB-731 | Beginner | 45 min | For business decision-makers |
| Agentic AI Business Solutions Architect Expert | AB-100 | Expert | Not stated | Requires one of 13 Associate certifications, including AI-103 and AI-300 |
Google Cloud AI certifications
| Certification | Level | Price | Length | Experience Google recommends | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Professional Machine Learning Engineer | Professional | $200 | 2 hours, 50–60 questions | 3 years in industry, including 1 year on Google Cloud | Active; updated for Google’s rename of Vertex AI to Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform |
| Generative AI Leader | Foundational | $99 | 90 min, 50–60 questions | None | Active; valid 3 years |
| Professional Agentic Architect | Professional | $120 in beta ($200 standard) | 3 hours, about 80 questions | 3 years, including 1 year building agentic systems | Beta; Google says registration for the full exam opens on 2 November 2026 |
Google Cloud professional certifications renew for 2 years and foundational certifications for 3 years (Google Cloud).
IAPP AIGP: the AI governance certification
The Artificial Intelligence Governance Professional (AIGP) from the IAPP is the AI certification most often named in AI governance job ads. It appeared in 15 of 439 AI governance postings collected in July and August 2026, 2 as a requirement and 13 as a preference, ahead of the IAPP’s privacy credential CIPP at 12 (EXEC CHART).
| Detail | AIGP |
|---|---|
| Issuer | IAPP (International Association of Privacy Professionals) |
| Exam price | $649 for IAPP members, $799 for non-members |
| Format | 100 questions in 2 hours 45 minutes, through Pearson VUE online or at a test centre; English only |
| Prerequisites | None |
| Renewal | Every 2 years, with 20 continuing education credits; non-members pay a $250 maintenance fee |
| Launched | April 2024 |
| ISO/IEC 17024 accreditation | Not listed. The IAPP’s accreditation page lists only CIPM, CIPP/E, CIPP/US and CIPT |
The pay evidence is about holders, not causation. AIGP holders reported a global average salary of $146,509 in Skillsoft’s 2024 survey (Skillsoft). The IAPP’s Salary and Jobs Report 2025–26 gives a median of $221,000 for technical AI governance roles but no AIGP-specific figure, and the IAPP states that certified respondents earning more does not prove cause and effect (IAPP).
ISACA’s AI credentials: for auditors, security and risk staff
ISACA’s three AI credentials are add-ons, not entry points: each requires an existing professional certification. All three cost $459 for ISACA members and $599 for non-members, plus a $50 application fee after passing.
| Credential | For | Prerequisite | Launched |
|---|---|---|---|
| Advanced in AI Audit (AAIA) | IT auditors | CISA, or an audit or accounting credential such as CIA or CPA in an IT audit role | 19 May 2025 |
| Advanced in AI Security Management (AAISM) | Security managers | An active CISM or CISSP | 19 August 2025 |
| Advanced in AI Risk (AAIR) | IT risk professionals | IT risk experience plus one of 25 qualifying certifications, such as CRISC, CISA, CISM or CISSP | 15 April 2026 |
AAIR maintenance costs $45 a year for members and $85 for non-members, with 10 CPE hours a year and 30 over three years (ISACA).
Their recognition comes from the parent credentials. No job-ad count has been published for AAIA, AAISM or AAIR, but the credentials they require are recognised: CRISC and CISSP each appeared in 9 of the 439 AI governance ads and CISA in 6 (EXEC CHART). An ISACA AI credential extends a credential employers already know.
Platform certifications: NVIDIA, Databricks and Salesforce
Platform certifications prove you can use one company’s stack, and they are worth most to employers built on that stack. No independent job-ad count has been published for any of them.
| Certification | Issuer | Price | Length | Validity |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Generative AI LLMs – Associate (NCA-GENL) | NVIDIA | $125 | 1 hour, 50–60 questions | 2 years |
| Generative AI LLMs – Professional (NCP-GENL) | NVIDIA | $200 | 2 hours, 60–70 questions | 2 years |
| Agentic AI – Professional (NCP-AAI) | NVIDIA | $200 | 2 hours | 2 years |
| AI Operations – Professional (NCP-AIO) | NVIDIA | $500 | 2 hours | 2 years |
| AI Infrastructure – Professional (NCP-AII) | NVIDIA | $400 | 2 hours | 2 years |
| Generative AI Engineer Associate | Databricks | $200 | 90 min, 45 scored questions | 2 years |
| Machine Learning Associate | Databricks | $200 | 90 min, 48 scored questions | 2 years |
| Machine Learning Professional | Databricks | $200 | 120 min, 59 scored questions | 2 years |
| Certified Agentforce Specialist | Salesforce | $200 ($100 retake) | 105 min, 60 questions; 72% to pass | Annual Trailhead maintenance module |
NVIDIA’s full list of certifications, including AI networking, data science and OpenUSD exams, is on its certification catalogue. NVIDIA certifications are renewed by retaking the exam.
Security certifications with an AI focus
Security teams have the newest AI credentials, and most have no hiring track record yet.
- CompTIA SecAI+ (CY0-001) launched on 17 February 2026: up to 60 questions in 60 minutes, with 3 to 4 years of IT experience and 2 years in security recommended. CompTIA’s page does not publish a price.
- CompTIA DataAI (DY0-001), formerly DataX, costs $369 and is one of 12 CompTIA certifications accredited to ISO/IEC 17024 through ANAB.
- GIAC Machine Learning Engineer (GMLE) and the newer GIAC AI Security Automation Engineer (GASAE) each have 82 questions over 3 hours. A GIAC exam attempt costs $999 without SANS training, and renewal costs $499 (GIAC). GIAC is an ISO/IEC 17024 accredited certification body through ANAB.
- ISC2 is developing an AI security certification and plans a pilot exam before the end of 2026 (Network World, 24 July 2026). Its current Building AI Strategy Certificate is a 16-hour course certificate, not a certification exam.
ISO/IEC 42001 auditor qualifications suit people auditing AI management systems against the international standard. BSI’s four-day ISO/IEC 42001 Lead Auditor course costs $2,730 in the US (BSI).
For AI project managers, PMI’s Certified Professional in Managing AI (PMI-CPMAI) is a 120-question, 160-minute exam sold with a 21-hour prep course, renewed with 30 professional development units every 3 years.
Course certificates: Google, IBM and Coursera
A course certificate shows you finished a course; a certification shows you passed a proctored exam. Employers treat them differently, and the hiring evidence for course certificates is the small LinkedIn effect measured by Athey and Palikot.
| Certificate | Price | Structure |
|---|---|---|
| Google AI Essentials | $49 a month on Coursera after a 7-day trial (US and Canada) | One course of 5 modules; Google’s page gives both “5–7 hrs” and “under 5 hrs” |
| Google AI Professional Certificate | $49 a month (US and Canada) | Google’s page gives both 7 and 8 modules, about 1 hour each; includes 3 months of Google AI Pro |
| IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate | Included in Coursera Plus | 16 courses, about 6 months at 6 hours a week |
| IBM AI Engineering Professional Certificate | Coursera subscription | The page gives 13 courses in one place and 6 in its FAQ |
| MIT Sloan, AI: Implications for Business Strategy | $3,850 | 6 weeks at 6–8 hours a week; certificate of completion |
Where course certificates help most: the Athey and Palikot trial found the largest gains for learners with the weakest employment prospects, about 12 per cent, and almost none for the strongest. A course certificate is most useful on a thin CV.
Certifications from AI labs: Anthropic and OpenAI
Anthropic launched Claude Certified Architect – Foundations on 12 March 2026 for members of its Claude Partner Network, priced at $125 (Anthropic, exam page). On 23 July 2026 Anthropic added Claude Certified Associate – Foundations, Claude Certified Developer – Foundations and Claude Certified Architect – Professional (Anthropic). Anthropic’s Academy FAQ says the exams are “only available to Anthropic partners” (Anthropic Academy). Anthropic publishes no price for the three newer exams.
OpenAI announced “OpenAI Certifications” on 4 September 2025, with a goal of certifying 10 million Americans by 2030 (OpenAI). The courses OpenAI launched on 9 December 2025 and 12 June 2026 award certificates of completion; OpenAI’s announcements describe no proctored exam and no price (OpenAI, OpenAI).
Neither has hiring evidence yet, and Anthropic’s are restricted to partner firms.
Independent “certified AI” credentials
Several independent organisations sell “certified AI” credentials.
- ARTiBA charges $750 for its AiE, $1,250 for CAiEP and $1,450 for CAiBP, one exam attempt each.
- The United States Artificial Intelligence Institute (USAII) sells credentials including the Certified Artificial Intelligence Scientist (CAIS).
- Blockchain Council sells a Certified Prompt Engineer exam for $199.
The pay data point: Foote Partners’ 2026 index found the highest-paying certification in its survey was the Certified Artificial Intelligence Scientist (CAIS), with an average cash premium of 18 per cent of base salary (Network World). Network World’s report does not name the issuer; USAII sells a credential of that name. A premium paid to holders does not show the credential caused it.
Three checks before paying for any AI certification:
- Is the exam proctored? An unproctored online test proves less than a supervised one.
- Is it accredited? ISO/IEC 17024 accreditation through ANAB covers CompTIA’s 12 accredited certifications, GIAC and the IAPP’s CIPP, CIPM and CIPT. It does not yet cover the AIGP.
- Does a job ad you want name it? Search the postings you are targeting for the certification’s exact name before you buy prep.
Retired AI certifications: exams not to study for
| Certification | Issuer | Retired | What replaced it |
|---|---|---|---|
| AWS Certified Machine Learning – Specialty (MLS-C01) | AWS | 31 March 2026 | No direct replacement; AWS now offers ML Engineer – Associate and Generative AI Developer – Professional |
| Azure Data Scientist Associate (DP-100) | Microsoft | 1 June 2026 | Microsoft names no successor; Machine Learning Operations Engineer Associate (AI-300) is the closest current certification |
| Azure AI Engineer Associate (AI-102) | Microsoft | 30 June 2026 | Microsoft names no successor on its retirement list; Azure AI Apps and Agents Developer Associate (AI-103) is the current AI developer certification |
| Azure AI Fundamentals exam AI-900 | Microsoft | 30 June 2026 | AI-901, under the same Azure AI Fundamentals name |
| AWS ML Engineer – Associate, English exam MLA-C01 | AWS | Last English sitting 28 September 2026 | MLA-C02, in beta, generally available in early 2027 |
Existing holders keep their credential until it expires. Study guides, practice tests and bootcamps still sold for these exams are out of date.
Which AI certification should you get?
You build AI applications on a cloud. Take the cloud provider’s associate or professional AI exam for the cloud your employer runs: AWS Certified Generative AI Developer – Professional ($300), Microsoft’s AI-103 (typically $165), or Google Cloud’s Professional Machine Learning Engineer ($200). Cloud partner programmes give employers a direct reason to value them.
You work in privacy, legal or compliance. Take the IAPP AIGP ($649 or $799), the certification AI governance job ads name most often.
You are an auditor, security manager or risk professional with CISA, CISM, CISSP or CRISC. Add the matching ISACA credential: AAIA, AAISM or AAIR ($459 or $599).
You are a non-technical manager who needs to show AI literacy. A foundational exam is the cheapest proctored option: Google Cloud Generative AI Leader ($99), AWS Certified AI Practitioner ($100) or Microsoft’s AB-731 AI Transformation Leader.
You are starting from scratch. A certification will not get you hired on its own. Build something you can show, follow one of the routes in AI career paths, and treat a $99 to $100 foundational exam as a supplement. For beginner-accessible paid work, see AI jobs for beginners.
You want to work at an AI lab or in AI research. Certifications do not count there; a research or engineering record does. See AI career paths and machine learning jobs.
Frequently asked questions
Are AI certifications worth it?
AI certifications are worth it when an employer you are targeting names one, or when your employer needs certified staff for a cloud partner programme. Foote Partners’ 2025 pay index found that across 4,722 employers, 89 uncertified AI skills averaged a 15 per cent pay premium while 21 AI certifications averaged 8.1 per cent, so demonstrable skills earn more than certificates alone. A randomised trial of more than 800,000 Coursera certificate earners in developing countries found that prompting them to share a certificate on LinkedIn raised new employment by about 6 per cent, with the largest gains for learners with the weakest CVs.
Which AI certification is most recognised by employers?
The AI certifications employers most clearly recognise are the role-based cloud certifications from AWS, Microsoft and Google Cloud, because cloud partner programmes count certified staff and Lightcast reports AWS and Microsoft cloud certifications are common in generative AI job ads. In AI governance, the IAPP’s AIGP is the most-named certification, appearing in 15 of 439 AI governance job ads in one published sample. No independent study counts job-ad mentions of individual cloud AI certifications.
What is the best AI certification for beginners?
The cheapest proctored AI certifications for beginners are Google Cloud’s Generative AI Leader at $99 and AWS Certified AI Practitioner at $100, neither of which requires prior experience. Microsoft’s Azure AI Fundamentals is now taken through exam AI-901, after AI-900 retired on 30 June 2026. A beginner’s certification supplements a portfolio of real work rather than replacing it.
How much does an AI certification cost?
Proctored AI certification exams cost $99 to $300 from the cloud providers: $99 for Google Cloud Generative AI Leader, $100 for AWS Certified AI Practitioner, typically $165 for a Microsoft associate exam, $200 for Google’s Professional Machine Learning Engineer and $300 for AWS Certified Generative AI Developer – Professional. Governance and audit credentials cost more: the IAPP AIGP is $649 for members and $799 for non-members, and ISACA’s AAIA, AAISM and AAIR are $459 for members and $599 for non-members plus a $50 application fee. A GIAC exam attempt costs $999 without SANS training.
Is the AWS Machine Learning Specialty certification still available?
No. AWS retired the Machine Learning – Specialty exam (MLS-C01) on 31 March 2026, and holders remain certified for 3 years from the date they earned it. AWS’s current machine learning certifications are the Machine Learning Engineer – Associate, which moves to exam MLA-C02 in early 2027, and the Generative AI Developer – Professional.
Is Microsoft AI-102 retired?
Yes. Microsoft retired the AI-102 exam and the Azure AI Engineer Associate certification on 30 June 2026, on the same day as AI-900. Microsoft’s current developer certification for AI applications is the Azure AI Apps and Agents Developer Associate, exam AI-103, which is a 120-minute exam. The Azure Data Scientist Associate (DP-100) retired on 1 June 2026.
Is the AIGP certification worth it?
The AIGP is the AI governance certification job ads name most often, appearing in 15 of 439 AI governance postings collected in July and August 2026, 2 as a requirement and 13 as a preference. That is still only about 3 per cent of the ads. The exam costs $649 for IAPP members and $799 for non-members, needs renewal every 2 years with 20 continuing education credits, and is not listed among the IAPP’s ISO/IEC 17024 accredited certifications.
Do Anthropic or OpenAI offer AI certifications?
Anthropic offers four Claude certifications, the first of which, Claude Certified Architect – Foundations, launched on 12 March 2026 at $125, but Anthropic’s Academy says the exams are only available to its partners. OpenAI announced OpenAI Certifications in September 2025 with a goal of certifying 10 million Americans by 2030; its courses so far award certificates of completion, and OpenAI has not announced a proctored exam or price.
Is a certificate the same as a certification?
No. A certification is awarded for passing a proctored exam set by the issuer, such as AWS Certified AI Practitioner or the IAPP AIGP, and usually expires unless renewed. A certificate is awarded for completing a course, such as Google AI Essentials on Coursera at $49 a month. Employers generally treat a proctored certification as the stronger signal, and accreditation to ISO/IEC 17024 is the formal standard for certification bodies.
Do I need an AI certification to get an AI job?
No. Most AI job ads do not require a named certification: in a sample of 439 AI governance ads, the most-named certification appeared in only 15. Employers pay more for demonstrated AI skills than for AI certificates, with Foote Partners measuring a 15 per cent average premium for uncertified AI skills against 8.1 per cent for AI certifications in 2025. The exception is consultancies and cloud resellers, whose partner status depends on certified staff.
Related pages
Pay: AI salaries · Prompt engineer salary · Machine learning jobs
Getting in: AI jobs hub · AI career paths · AI jobs for beginners · AI internships · Best AI for resumes · Best AI interview prep
Build the skills: What is agentic AI · Best AI for coding · Best AI agent frameworks
Earning now: Get paid to train AI · AI training jobs