business
Best AI Receptionists
The best AI receptionists and AI answering services — Rosie, Dialzara, Goodcall, Smith.ai, Abby Connect, Frontdesk, Slang.ai, Numa, Ruby and PATLive compared on published pricing, effective cost per minute, call handling, CRM handoff and the disclosure laws that apply, set against what consumers actually say about talking to AI on the phone.
Quick answer: For most small businesses the best AI receptionist is Rosie, which is the cheapest credible option in the category at $49/month for 250 minutes and $149/month for 1,000 minutes — an effective $0.15 per minute on its middle plan, the lowest published rate we could verify. Dialzara is the best entry point at $29/month for 60 minutes and the most honest on overage, publishing a per-minute rate ($0.35–$0.48) that stays close to its included-minute rate. Goodcall is the pick if you want a predictable bill, because it sells unlimited minutes from $79/month per agent and meters unique callers instead ($0.50 per caller above the plan’s allowance). For law firms, Smith.ai is the strongest, at $150/month on Pro with per-call pricing of $1.80–$2.00 and native Clio integration. If you want a human to catch what the AI cannot, Abby Connect is the only vendor here selling a genuine blended human-plus-AI service, from $165/month.
The number that should govern the decision: consumers do not want to talk to your AI. In a SurveyMonkey survey of 2,017 US adults fielded 10–11 December 2025 (±2.5 percentage points), 79% said they strongly prefer interacting with a human over an AI agent, and 89% believe companies should always offer the option to speak to a human (SurveyMonkey). That does not make AI receptionists a bad purchase — it makes them a specific one. They earn their money on the calls that would otherwise ring out to voicemail: after hours, during jobs, on the second line while you are already talking. Used to replace a human answer that a caller would otherwise have got, they cost you goodwill you cannot see on the invoice.
Which one should you pick?
| If you are | Pick | Price | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| A small business that just needs missed calls answered | Rosie | $49/month, 250 minutes | Cheapest verified real cost per minute in the category, at about $0.15 on the $149 plan |
| Testing whether this works at all | Dialzara | $29/month, 60 minutes | Lowest entry price with a published overage rate you can model |
| Unable to tolerate a surprise bill | Goodcall | $79/month per agent | Unlimited minutes; the meter is unique callers, not talk time |
| A law firm | Smith.ai | $150/month, per-call | Per-call rather than per-minute pricing, plus native Clio and Zapier |
| Wanting a human safety net | Abby Connect | $165/month, 50 minutes | The only true blended human-plus-AI option here; AI minutes stretch twice as far |
| A restaurant | Slang.ai | $399/month per location | Built around reservations, with OpenTable and SevenRooms integrations |
| A car dealership | Numa | Not published | Purpose-built for dealership fixed ops, with about 90% DMS coverage |
| Handling calls too sensitive for AI | PATLive | $99/month, 50 minutes | Human agents, transparent per-minute tiers, 14-day free trial |
| Answering as if you had a real front desk | Ruby | $250/month, 50 minutes | Human receptionists, the quality benchmark this category is measured against |
Not on this list on purpose: the platforms you use to build a voice agent, rather than buy an answering service. Those are a different purchase with a different skill requirement, and this page does not cover them.
What an AI receptionist actually is
An AI receptionist is a done-for-you service that answers your business phone with a synthetic voice, follows a script you configure, and hands you the outcome as a transcript, a summary, a booked appointment or a warm transfer.
You buy it the way you buy any subscription: pick a plan, forward your number, describe your business in a setup form, and it starts answering. You do not build anything. The general services go live in hours or days (the dealership product, Numa, takes weeks), and most offer a free trial of seven to fourteen days.
What you get, consistently, across the category:
- 24/7 answering, which is the actual product. Every vendor here answers at 3am on a Sunday.
- Call summaries, transcripts and recordings, delivered by email, SMS or app.
- Appointment booking, either by texting a booking link or by writing directly into a calendar.
- Lead qualification against questions you specify, and routing or warm transfer to a human when the answer warrants it.
- Spam filtering, which is a larger practical benefit than it sounds.
- English and Spanish as standard; broader language coverage is uneven and worth checking before you buy.
What you do not get, and should not expect: judgement. These systems handle the predictable eighty per cent of an inbound call — who is calling, why, when they want to come in, where to send them. They do not handle a distressed customer, an unusual request, or a caller who talks over the script. Every vendor’s real quality differentiator is how gracefully it gives up and passes the call to a person.
This page ranks the services you buy. If you want to build a custom voice agent on a platform — choosing your own model, writing your own prompts, wiring your own telephony — that is a separate category with a separate comparison, and the general-purpose agent landscape is covered in best AI agents and, for developers, best AI agent frameworks. For text rather than voice, see best AI chatbots. For the voices themselves, best AI voice generators.
Best AI receptionists compared
Every price below is from the vendor’s own published pricing page. Effective cost per minute is our calculation from those figures: plan price divided by included minutes. Where a vendor publishes no price, we say so rather than estimate.
1. Rosie — best for small businesses on a budget
Price: $49/month (250 minutes), $149/month (1,000 minutes), $299/month (2,000 minutes) Effective cost per minute: $0.20, $0.15, $0.15 Free trial: 7 days, cancel anytime, no contract Overage rate: Not published
Rosie is the best default for a small business, and the reason is arithmetic: at $149 for 1,000 minutes it is answering calls for about 15 cents a minute, which is roughly a tenth of what the cheapest human service in this comparison charges and less than half the nearest AI competitor’s included-minute rate.
The feature ladder is sensibly drawn. The $49 Professional plan covers the core job — answering, two custom message-taking scenarios, texting an appointment link, spam detection, a website chat widget. Direct calendar booking, warm transfers with a team briefing and live transfers arrive on the $149 Scale plan, which is the one most businesses should buy. The $299 Growth plan adds waterfall transfers across multiple backup numbers, custom agent training and a dedicated onboarding specialist.
All plans include English and Spanish, native iOS and Android apps, call summaries, transcripts and recordings, Zapier access to over a thousand apps, and a choice of ten or more voices.
The caveat that matters: Rosie does not publish an overage rate. Every other general AI service here does. If you are near a plan’s ceiling, ask what happens when you cross it before you commit, because an unpublished overage rate is the one variable that can turn the cheapest option into an expensive one.
Best for: Any small business whose main problem is that the phone rings when nobody can answer it.
2. Dialzara — best entry price and clearest overage
Price: $29/month (60 minutes), $99 (220), $199 (500), $349 (1,000) Effective cost per minute: $0.48, $0.45, $0.40, $0.35 Overage rate: $0.48, $0.45, $0.40, $0.35 per minute by plan Free trial: 7 days, no setup fees
Dialzara is the most transparently priced product in this comparison, and it is the one we would test first. Its overage rate is identical to its included-minute rate on every tier — $0.35 a minute on the Elite plan whether the minute is inside your allowance or outside it. That means your bill scales linearly with call volume and cannot surprise you, which is a genuinely rare property here.
At $29 a month for 60 minutes, Business Lite is also the cheapest way to find out whether an AI receptionist works for your business at all. Sixty minutes is roughly twenty short calls, which is enough to hear how it handles your actual callers.
Included across plans: 24/7 answering, appointment booking, lead qualification, call routing, voicemail transcription, CRM and calendar integration, English and Spanish, and a custom AI voice. Every paid plan includes white-glove setup with a one-to-one call with a Dialzara prompt engineer, which is unusual at this price. An AI SMS agent is bundled free with any voice plan (otherwise $19/month plus $0.05 per message), and a website chatbot is included with 100 sessions a month.
The caveat: Dialzara’s per-minute rate is two to three times Rosie’s. You are paying for predictability and setup help. Above a few hundred minutes a month the gap becomes real money.
Best for: Testing the category cheaply, and for anyone who wants a bill they can calculate in advance.
3. Goodcall — best for a predictable bill
Price: $79/month per agent (Starter), $129 (Growth), $249 (Scale); 15% off annually, so $66, $108 and $208 Effective cost per minute: Not applicable — minutes are unlimited Overage rate: $0.50 per unique customer above the plan allowance Free trial: Offered; length not published
Goodcall prices on a different axis from everyone else, and for some businesses that is decisive. Minutes and AI tokens are unlimited on every plan. What is metered is unique customers — distinct phone numbers that interact with your agent: 100 a month on Starter, 250 on Growth, 500 on Scale, then $0.50 for each additional caller.
This is the right model if your calls are long or unpredictable, and the wrong model if you have a small number of callers who ring constantly. A trade business fielding hundred-and-eighty-second booking calls from new customers every time will do badly; a clinic whose 200 regular patients each call for six minutes will do very well, because six minutes and sixty minutes cost the same.
The plans also ladder on operational capacity rather than talk time: 1, 3 and 25 logic flows; 3, 9 and 50 team members; 3, 25 and 500 directory contacts; and call-detail retention of 7 days, 30 days and unlimited respectively. Seven days of retention on the Starter plan is short — if you need call records for disputes or compliance, budget for Growth.
Best for: Businesses with long calls, repeat callers, or a finance function that hates variable costs.
4. Smith.ai — best for law firms
Price: Free (25 calls), $150/month Pro (75–300 calls), $500/month Enterprise (300–1,000+) Cost per call: $2.00 falling to $1.80 on Pro, $1.67 falling to $1.60 on Enterprise; overage $2.50 falling to $2.10 Free trial: A free tier of 25 calls a month at $3.00 per call beyond Contract: Month-to-month, 30 days’ notice to cancel
Smith.ai is the only vendor here that prices per call rather than per minute, and that is the whole argument for it. If your calls are long — intake conversations, consultations, anything where a caller needs to explain a situation — a flat $1.60 to $2.00 per call is better than a meter running at 35 to 48 cents a minute. A twelve-minute intake call costs $2.00 or less on Smith.ai and about $4.20 on Dialzara Elite.
The legal orientation is real rather than marketing: native Clio integration is listed on every plan alongside Zapier, and AI scheduling runs through Calendly. Lead qualification, recording and transcription, AI scheduling and call analytics are included at every tier, including the free one.
Its free plan is the most generous starting point in this comparison — 25 calls a month at no cost, then $3.00 a call. For a sole practitioner taking a handful of new enquiries a month, that may be the entire answer.
Enterprise ($500) adds full-service setup, custom AI prompting, unlimited custom integrations, multi-location support and a dedicated success manager.
The caveat: per-call pricing punishes short calls. If most of your inbound is a thirty-second “are you open?”, you are paying nearly two dollars to answer a question worth two cents.
Best for: Law firms, and any business whose calls run long.
5. Abby Connect — best blended human and AI
Price: $165/month (50 Abby Minutes), $329 (100), $599 (200), $1,380 (500), Enterprise custom Effective cost per minute, AI: $1.65, $1.65, $1.50, $1.38 — because AI minutes count double Free trial: Yes, on every plan; month-to-month, no setup fees
Abby Connect sells three things — US-based human receptionists, an AI receptionist, and a blended human-plus-AI service — and it is the only vendor in this comparison offering the third as a product rather than an aspiration.
The pricing mechanic is worth understanding because it is unusual and it favours you. Plans are denominated in “Abby Minutes”. With human answering, one Abby Minute buys one minute of service. With AI answering, one Abby Minute buys two. So the $599 Professional plan is 200 minutes of human reception or 400 minutes of AI — an effective $1.50 per AI minute.
That is ten times Rosie’s rate, and the honest way to read it is that you are not buying the same product. You are buying a service with trained human fallback, HIPAA compliance options, bilingual support, encrypted call recordings and over a thousand integrations, where the AI absorbs the routine volume and a person handles what it should not.
Best for: Professional services where a badly handled call is expensive, and where “the AI could not cope” is not an acceptable outcome.
6. Frontdesk (My AI Front Desk) — best all-in-one voice, SMS and chat
Price: $99/month, or $79/month billed annually Includes: 200 voice minutes, 100 chatbot conversations, 400 SMS messages, 1,000 overage credits with auto-reload Effective cost per minute: $0.50 at list, $0.40 annually Overage rate: 25 credits per minute, about $0.25/minute; credits auto-reload at $10 per 1,000 Free trial: 7 days, no contracts
Frontdesk bundles the three channels a small business actually gets contacted on into one $99 plan, and its overage is cheaper than its included minutes — about 25 cents a minute against an effective 50 cents inside the plan. In practice that means the plan price is a floor and heavy use is unusually affordable, which inverts the normal pattern.
The plan includes call transfer, more than 20 languages, two editor seats and Zapier. Enterprise pricing brings the rate as low as 7 credits — about $0.07 a minute, the lowest figure any vendor here publishes, though only at volume and by negotiation.
The caveat: credit systems obscure cost. Work out your monthly minutes, convert to credits, and price it before you sign up.
Best for: Businesses fielding a mix of calls, texts and website chats that want one bill and one place to configure all three.
7. Slang.ai — best for restaurants
Price: From $399/month per location (Core), from $599 (Premium), Enterprise custom Included minutes: Not published Free trial: Not published; demo-led sales
Slang.ai is not a general answering service and does not pretend to be. It is built for full-service restaurants, and the product is shaped by that: reservation management with native OpenTable, SevenRooms, Yelp and Fishbowl integrations, text confirmations, VIP routing, special-request capture, and CSAT measurement on handled calls. Premium adds custom branding, reservation cross-selling, real-time alerts, AI texting, Spanish support and a Smart Inbox. Private events run through a Tripleseat integration as an add-on.
At $399 a month per location it is between three and eight times the price of the general AI receptionists above, and for a restaurant doing meaningful reservation volume that can still be the right buy, because a missed booking is worth considerably more than a missed enquiry. For a single small restaurant it is a lot of money.
Slang.ai publishes no call or minute allowance, which means you cannot model the cost of growth from the pricing page. Ask for the cap in the demo.
Best for: Full-service restaurants and multi-location hospitality groups already running OpenTable or SevenRooms.
8. Numa — best for car dealerships
Price: Not published Included minutes: Not published Free trial: Not published; dealerships typically go live in two to three weeks
Numa is a vertical product for franchise car dealerships, multi-rooftop dealer groups and fixed-operations departments, and its differentiator is integration depth rather than price: it connects to DMS, scheduler and CRM systems with what it describes as about 90% DMS coverage across the industry.
We cannot tell you what it costs. Numa runs a demo-led enterprise sales motion and publishes no pricing, no minute allowance and no trial terms. That is normal for the segment and it is still a real disadvantage when you are comparing options, so treat it as a shortlist candidate to be quoted rather than a price you can check.
Best for: Dealership service departments, where DMS integration is the whole job and generic answering services cannot do it.
9. Ruby — the human benchmark
Price: $250/month (50 minutes), $395 (100), $720 (200), $1,725 (500) Effective cost per minute: $5.00, $3.95, $3.60, $3.45 Service type: Human receptionists on every plan AI: Optional AI enhancements including transcripts and sentiment analysis, at no extra cost
Ruby is the incumbent this entire category is trying to displace, and it is worth including precisely because it sets the price ceiling. Ruby charges $3.45 to $5.00 a minute for human receptionists — between 23 and 33 times Rosie’s effective rate.
It is not obviously bad value. A trained human answering as your business, 24/7 including weekends and holidays, with bilingual support and no setup, customisation or activation fees, is a different product from a script with a synthetic voice. Ruby also now folds AI enhancements — transcripts, sentiment analysis — into its plans at no additional cost, which is the sensible incumbent response.
Live chat runs $143 to $520 a month for 10 to 50 chats, and bundling phone with chat saves 20%.
Neither Ruby’s overage rate nor its contract terms are disclosed on its pricing page. Ask.
Best for: Businesses where every call is high-value and a caller realising they are talking to software would cost you the job.
10. PATLive — best pay-as-you-go human cover
Price: $49/month pay-as-you-go, then $99 (50 minutes), $189 (100), $349 (200), $479 (300), $759 (500), rising to $6,899 (5,000) Effective cost per minute: $1.98 at 50 minutes falling to $1.38 at 5,000 Overage rate: $2.99/minute on pay-as-you-go, falling to $1.54 on the 4,000-minute plan Free trial: 14 days on any plan
PATLive is the most granularly priced human service in the comparison — more than ten published voice tiers — and the one with the clearest cost curve. Its $49 pay-as-you-go plan at $2.99 a minute is the cheapest way to have a human answering your phone at all, and useful as pure overflow behind an AI receptionist.
At roughly half Ruby’s per-minute rate it is the value option among human services, and its published overage rates on every tier make it easier to model than Ruby. Chat runs $19 to $4,999 a month, and outbound calling is priced per outreach.
Best for: Overflow and escalation behind an AI receptionist, and for businesses that want human answering without Ruby’s pricing.
Also considered: AnswerConnect is a substantial human-plus-AI answering service and a genuine alternative to Ruby and PATLive, but we could not verify its current plans or rates from its site, so it is not ranked. Pricing data not available.
Pricing comparison: what an AI receptionist really costs
Every figure is from the vendor’s published pricing page. The effective rate is our calculation — plan price divided by included minutes — and it is the number vendors do not print.
| Service | Type | Entry plan | Best-value plan | Effective $/minute | Overage | Free trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rosie | AI | $49 / 250 min | $149 / 1,000 min | $0.15 | Not published | 7 days |
| Frontdesk | AI | $99 / 200 min | $79 annual / 200 min | $0.40–$0.50 | about $0.25/min | 7 days |
| Dialzara | AI | $29 / 60 min | $349 / 1,000 min | $0.35–$0.48 | $0.35–$0.48/min | 7 days |
| Goodcall | AI | $79 per agent | $129 per agent | Unlimited minutes | $0.50 per extra caller | Yes, length not published |
| Smith.ai | AI | Free / 25 calls | $150 / 75–300 calls | $1.60–$2.00 per call | $2.10–$2.50 per call | Free tier |
| Abby Connect | AI or human or blended | $165 / 50 units | $599 / 200 units | $1.38–$1.65 (AI) | Plan unit rate | Yes |
| Slang.ai | AI, restaurants | $399 per location | $599 per location | Not published | Not published | Demo only |
| Numa | AI, dealerships | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Demo only |
| PATLive | Human | $49 pay-as-you-go | $349 / 200 min | $1.38–$1.98 | $1.54–$2.99/min | 14 days |
| Ruby | Human | $250 / 50 min | $720 / 200 min | $3.45–$5.00 | Not published | Not published |
Three things fall out of that table.
The spread inside the AI category is more than tenfold. Rosie answers a minute for about 15 cents and Abby Connect for about $1.50. That is not one of them being wrong — Abby is selling human fallback and compliance infrastructure — but it does mean “an AI receptionist costs about X” is a meaningless sentence. Price the plan against your own call pattern.
Per-call and per-minute pricing invert depending on call length. Smith.ai’s $1.60–$2.00 per call beats Dialzara once calls run past about four to six minutes, beats Rosie only past about eleven to thirteen, and loses badly on thirty-second enquiries.
Four of the ten vendors here do not publish something you need. Rosie publishes no overage rate, Slang.ai no call allowance, Numa no price at all, and Ruby neither overage nor contract terms. We have marked each rather than filling the gap with a guess.
Three worked examples
Published rates are easy to compare and hard to act on. Here is what the same three businesses would actually pay, using each vendor’s own published figures.
A sole trader: 40 calls a month, averaging 2.5 minutes (100 minutes)
| Option | Monthly cost | Working |
|---|---|---|
| Smith.ai free tier | $45 | 25 calls free, 15 more at $3.00 |
| Dialzara Lite plus overage | $48 | $29 plus 40 minutes at $0.48 |
| Rosie Professional | $49 | 250 minutes included, well inside the plan |
| Goodcall Starter | $79 | Unlimited minutes, 100 unique callers |
| Frontdesk | $99 | 200 minutes included |
| PATLive human | $189 | 100-minute plan |
| Ruby human | $395 | 100-minute plan |
At this volume Smith.ai’s free tier is genuinely the best answer, and the cheapest human option costs about four times the cheapest AI one.
An established small business: 150 calls a month, averaging 3 minutes (450 minutes)
| Option | Monthly cost | Working |
|---|---|---|
| Goodcall Growth | $129 | Unlimited minutes, assuming 250 or fewer unique callers |
| Rosie Scale | $149 | 1,000 minutes included, room to double |
| Frontdesk plus overage | $162 | $99 plus 250 minutes at about $0.25 |
| Dialzara Business Plus | $199 | 500 minutes included |
| Smith.ai Pro | $270 | 150 calls at $1.80 |
| Abby Connect | $599–$1,380 | 450 AI minutes needs 225 Abby Minutes |
| PATLive human | $759 | 500-minute plan |
| Ruby human | $1,725 | 500-minute plan |
This is the band a typical small business sits in, and it is where the category’s economics are starkest: $129 to $270 for the mainstream AI options against $759 to $1,725 for humans — roughly three to thirteen times, depending on which end of each range you land on.
A busy multi-line business: 500 calls a month, averaging 3 minutes (1,500 minutes)
| Option | Monthly cost | Working |
|---|---|---|
| Goodcall Scale | $249 | Unlimited minutes, 500 unique callers |
| Rosie Growth | $299 | 2,000 minutes included |
| Frontdesk plus overage | $424 | $99 plus 1,300 minutes at about $0.25 |
| Dialzara Elite plus overage | $524 | $349 plus 500 minutes at $0.35 |
| Smith.ai Enterprise | about $800 | 500 calls at about $1.60 |
| PATLive human | about $2,344 | 1,000-minute plan plus 500 minutes at $1.69 |
| Ruby human | Beyond published plans | 500 minutes is Ruby’s largest published tier |
At volume, unlimited-minute and high-allowance plans win decisively, and human answering stops being a realistic comparison at all — the cheapest human option is roughly nine times the cheapest AI one.
The assumption to check in all three: these use each vendor’s published included allowances and overage rates, and assume calls are answered end to end by the AI. Warm transfers to a human, spam calls that still consume minutes, and callers who ring twice all move the real number upwards.
AI, human or blended: how to actually decide
The cost gap is not the interesting part. The interesting part is that the cheap option is worse at the job, and how much worse depends entirely on which calls you send it.
What the AI is genuinely good at. Answering at all. Taking a name, a number and a reason. Booking into a calendar. Saying the opening hours. Filtering spam. Routing to the right person. These are the calls where a synthetic voice that answers on the second ring beats a human who is not there, and it is not a close contest.
What it is bad at. Anything unscripted. A caller who is upset, confused, elderly, hard to understand, calling about something the script does not cover, or who simply talks the way people actually talk rather than the way forms expect. In those calls the AI’s failure is not neutral — the caller notices, and the SurveyMonkey data says how they feel about it: 56% have negative feelings about companies that use AI in customer experience (SurveyMonkey), and in a Kinsta study cited by SurveyMonkey, 81% believe AI is used mainly to save money rather than to improve service.
That produces a straightforward rule. Put the AI where the alternative is silence, and a human where the alternative is a person. In practice:
- AI on overflow, after hours, weekends and second line. This is the whole value proposition and it carries almost no downside, because the comparison is voicemail.
- Human on first-ring during business hours, if you can afford it. PATLive’s $49 pay-as-you-go plan at $2.99 a minute makes a human cheaper to bolt on than most people assume.
- Blended if the call is worth more than the margin. Abby Connect is the only vendor here productising this, and its two-for-one AI minute mechanic is designed for exactly this split.
- Always offer the human escape hatch. 89% of consumers believe companies should always offer the option to speak to a human, and most vendors here offer transfer or escalation; confirm it is on the plan you buy. Configure it, test it, and make the AI offer it early rather than after three failed attempts.
One more thing worth saying plainly, because no vendor will: an AI receptionist is not a receptionist. It is a very good answering machine that can book appointments. Businesses that buy it as the former are disappointed; businesses that buy it as the latter are usually delighted, because the bar it has to clear is voicemail.
The legal bit: disclosure and call recording
This section is general information about rules that apply to AI phone answering, not legal advice, and none of it is a substitute for asking a lawyer about your own jurisdiction and industry.
No single rule requires you to announce that a caller has reached an AI. The obligation depends on where your callers are and what the AI does, and the widely repeated claim that AI phone answering is broadly illegal in the United States is wrong.
The FCC ruling is about outbound calls, not inbound answering. In February 2024 the FCC unanimously adopted a Declaratory Ruling recognising that calls made with AI-generated voices are “artificial” under the Telephone Consumer Protection Act, which governs calls placed to consumers and requires prior express consent for artificial or prerecorded voice calls. It is a robocalling rule. If your AI only answers calls that customers place to you, it is a different activity — but if you also use AI to make outbound calls or callbacks, this is the rule that bites, and it is worth advice before you switch it on.
California’s bot law is narrower than it is usually described. Business and Professions Code §17941 makes it unlawful to use a bot to communicate with a person in California “online” with intent to mislead about its artificial identity in order to incentivise a commercial transaction or influence a vote. Two limits matter: it is expressly confined to online communication, which on its face does not cover a telephone call, and it requires deceptive intent rather than mere non-disclosure. The statute provides a safe harbour for clear and conspicuous disclosure that you are dealing with a bot.
Utah’s law is the one most likely to apply to you. The Utah Artificial Intelligence Policy Act, as amended effective 7 May 2025, requires any entity to disclose whether a consumer is interacting with a human or with AI when the consumer makes a “clear and unambiguous request” to know (Davis Polk). Proactive disclosure at the start of the interaction is required only for higher-risk uses — broadly, where the AI collects sensitive personal information and gives personalised advice that could reasonably be relied on for significant financial, legal, medical or mental-health decisions. Utah’s Division of Consumer Protection can impose $2,500 per violation; there is no private right of action, and a safe harbour applies where clear and conspicuous disclosure is given at the outset and throughout the interaction.
The practical upshot is simple and worth configuring on day one: your AI must answer honestly when a caller asks whether it is a real person. Test that it does, because a script that deflects the question is the one behaviour most likely to put you on the wrong side of a disclosure rule.
If you take calls from the EU, Article 50 applies. EU AI Act Article 50, enforceable from 2 August 2026, requires AI systems that interact directly with people to be designed so those people are informed they are dealing with AI, unless it is obvious. An AI receptionist interacting with EU callers sits squarely inside that obligation.
Call recording is a separate question, and most products here record and transcribe calls. Recording consent in the United States is governed by state law, with most states requiring one party’s consent and a number — California among them — requiring all parties’. Because your AI is recording and transcribing every call, the announcement at the start of the call is doing double duty, and it needs to be right for the states your callers are in, not just the state you are in. For healthcare, Abby Connect publishes HIPAA compliance options; verify any vendor’s HIPAA terms contractually rather than from a marketing page.
Our recommendations by situation
If you are a trade business, contractor or sole operator: Rosie at $49/month. Cheapest real cost per minute, seven-day trial, and the app matters when you are on a job.
If you are testing whether AI answering works for you at all: Dialzara Business Lite at $29/month for 60 minutes. Cheapest honest experiment in the category, and the overage rate means you cannot get hurt.
If you take a handful of enquiries a month: Smith.ai’s free tier — 25 calls a month at no cost. Nobody else comes close at low volume.
If you are a law firm: Smith.ai Pro at $150/month. Per-call pricing suits long intake calls and the native Clio integration is the differentiator.
If your calls are long or your callers ring repeatedly: Goodcall from $79/month per agent. Unlimited minutes is the right shape for this pattern, but check your unique-caller count first.
If you are a clinic or a professional practice: Abby Connect from $165/month, for the blended human fallback and the HIPAA compliance options. Expect to pay around $1.50 an AI minute.
If you run a restaurant: Slang.ai at $399/month per location, on the strength of the OpenTable and SevenRooms integrations. Ask for the call allowance before signing.
If you run a dealership service department: Numa, for DMS integration no generalist can match. Get a quote; there is no published price.
If a mishandled call would cost you the customer: Ruby from $250/month, or PATLive from $99/month for the same idea at roughly half the per-minute rate. Human answering costs roughly 9 to 33 times the cheapest AI per minute, and for some businesses that is still the correct decision.
If you want to build rather than buy: none of the above. Building a custom voice agent is a different project with different economics, and it belongs with the agent platforms rather than the answering services.
Feature comparison
Built only from what each vendor states on its own published pages. “Not specified” means the vendor does not state it where a buyer would look, which is itself worth knowing.
| Feature | Rosie | Dialzara | Goodcall | Smith.ai | Abby Connect | Frontdesk | Slang.ai |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Answers 24/7 | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Direct calendar booking | Yes, from $149 | Yes | Not specified | Yes, via Calendly | Not specified | Not specified | Yes, reservations |
| Booking link by text | Yes, all plans | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Yes, confirmations |
| Warm or live transfer | Yes, from $149 | Yes, routing | Not specified | Not specified | Yes, to humans | Yes | Yes, VIP routing |
| Human fallback as a product | No | No | No | Human plans sold separately | Yes, blended | No | No |
| Spanish | Yes, all plans | Yes | Not specified | Not specified | Yes, bilingual | Yes, 20+ languages | Yes, on Premium |
| Recording, transcript and summary | Yes | Yes, voicemail transcription | Yes, with retention limits | Yes | Yes, encrypted recordings | Yes, recording | Yes |
| Spam filtering | Yes | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified |
| Website chat included | Yes, widget | Yes, 100 sessions | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Yes, 100 conversations | Not specified |
| SMS to callers | Yes, from $149 | Yes, AI SMS agent | Not specified | Yes, custom branding on Pro | Not specified | Yes, 400 messages | Yes, on Premium |
| Mobile app | Yes, iOS and Android | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified |
| Zapier or integrations | Yes, 1,000+ | CRM and calendar | Not specified | Yes, Clio and Zapier | Yes, 1,000+ | Yes, Zapier | OpenTable, SevenRooms, Yelp, Fishbowl, Tripleseat |
| HIPAA options | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Yes | Not specified | Not specified |
| Custom onboarding | Yes, from $299 | Yes, all paid plans | Not specified | Yes, Pro and above | Not specified | Yes, Enterprise | Not specified |
Two patterns are worth pulling out. Rosie documents its feature set most completely, which makes it the easiest product here to buy with confidence. And only Abby Connect sells human fallback as part of the same product — everyone else either has no humans at all or, in Smith.ai’s case, sells them as a separate service you would need to combine yourself.
Frequently asked questions
What is an AI receptionist?
An AI receptionist is a subscription service that answers your business phone with a synthetic voice, works from a script you configure, and reports back with a transcript, a summary, a booked appointment or a transferred call. You do not build it — you pick a plan, forward your number, describe your business in a setup form, and it starts answering, usually within hours. It is distinct from a voice-agent platform, which is a developer tool for building a custom agent from scratch.
How much does an AI receptionist cost?
Entry plans for the general AI services run from $29 to $165 a month (Smith.ai also has a free tier), and the meaningful number is the effective cost per minute, which ranges from about $0.15 with Rosie to about $1.50 with Abby Connect — a tenfold spread inside the same category. A typical small business taking 150 calls a month of about three minutes each will pay between $129 and $270 across the mainstream AI options. Goodcall prices differently, selling unlimited minutes from $79 a month per agent and metering unique callers instead at $0.50 each above the plan allowance.
What is the best AI receptionist for a small business?
Rosie is the best default, at $49 a month for 250 minutes or $149 for 1,000, which works out at roughly 15 cents a minute — the lowest verified rate in the category — with English and Spanish, direct calendar booking and warm transfers on the $149 plan, and mobile apps. Dialzara is the better choice if you want to test the idea first, at $29 a month for 60 minutes with a published overage rate of $0.48 a minute so the bill cannot surprise you.
Is there a free AI receptionist?
Smith.ai offers the only genuinely useful free plan: 25 calls a month at no cost, then $3.00 per call, with call recording and transcription, lead qualification, AI scheduling, analytics and Clio and Zapier integrations included. For a sole practitioner taking a few enquiries a month that may be all you need. Everyone else offers a time-limited trial instead — seven days at Rosie, Dialzara and Frontdesk, fourteen at PATLive, and a trial of unpublished length at Goodcall.
Do I have to tell callers they are talking to an AI?
It depends where your callers are, and the safest configuration is to have the AI answer honestly whenever anyone asks. Utah’s Artificial Intelligence Policy Act, as amended in May 2025, requires disclosure whenever a consumer makes a clear and unambiguous request to know whether they are dealing with a human or AI, with penalties of $2,500 per violation. EU AI Act Article 50, enforceable from 2 August 2026, requires people to be informed they are interacting with AI unless it is obvious. California’s bot disclosure law is narrower than usually described — it covers online communication and requires deceptive intent — so it does not clearly reach a phone call. This is general information rather than legal advice.
Is an AI receptionist legal in the United States?
Answering inbound calls with AI is legal, and the claim that the FCC banned it is a misreading. The FCC’s February 2024 Declaratory Ruling held that AI-generated voices count as “artificial” under the Telephone Consumer Protection Act, which regulates calls placed to consumers — it is a robocalling rule, and it applies if you use AI to make outbound calls or callbacks, not to a service that answers calls your customers place to you. Separately, because most products in this comparison record and transcribe calls, US recording-consent law applies, and it varies by state, with California and several others requiring all parties to consent.
Is an AI receptionist better than a human answering service?
It is far cheaper and measurably less liked. Human services charge $1.38 to $5.00 a minute against $0.15 to $1.50 for AI — up to more than thirty times more — but in a SurveyMonkey survey of 2,017 US adults in December 2025, 79% said they strongly prefer a human and 89% said companies should always offer the option to speak to one. The sensible answer is that they do different jobs: AI wins overwhelmingly where the alternative is voicemail, and loses where the alternative is a person picking up.
Can an AI receptionist book appointments?
Yes, and there are two mechanisms worth distinguishing. The cheaper approach is to text the caller a booking link, which Rosie does on all plans. Writing directly into your calendar during the call is the better experience and usually sits higher up the price list — it is on Rosie’s $149 Scale plan and above, and Smith.ai handles it through Calendly on every tier including the free one. Slang.ai does the restaurant equivalent through OpenTable and SevenRooms.
Can an AI receptionist transfer a call to me?
Yes, and how well it does so is the single most important quality difference between these products. Rosie offers live transfers and warm transfers that brief you before the call connects on its $149 plan, plus waterfall transfers across multiple backup numbers on the $299 plan. Dialzara includes call routing on all plans, and Frontdesk includes call transfer. Configure and test escalation before you go live, because an AI that cannot gracefully hand over is worse than no AI at all.
Can an AI receptionist speak Spanish?
English and Spanish are common across the category — Rosie, Dialzara and Abby Connect all include Spanish, Frontdesk lists more than 20 languages, and Slang.ai includes Spanish on its $599 Premium tier rather than its $399 Core tier. Beyond Spanish the picture is inconsistent and not well documented on vendor pricing pages, so if you need another language, confirm it in writing before you buy.
Can an AI receptionist replace my receptionist?
No, and buying it on that basis is the most common way to be disappointed. These systems reliably handle the predictable part of an inbound call — who is calling, why, when they want to come in, where to route them — and they do not handle a distressed, confused or unusual caller. The realistic framing is that an AI receptionist replaces your voicemail, not your receptionist, and on that comparison it is excellent value. If a mishandled call would cost you the customer, the options are a human service such as Ruby or PATLive, or a blended service such as Abby Connect.
Which is cheaper, per-minute or per-call pricing?
Per-call pricing wins on long calls and loses on short ones, and where the crossover sits depends on the per-minute rate you compare it with. Smith.ai charges $1.60 to $2.00 per call regardless of length, so a twelve-minute intake conversation costs $2.00 or less there against about $4.20 on Dialzara’s $0.35-a-minute Elite plan. Against Dialzara the crossover is roughly four to six minutes; against Rosie’s 15 cents a minute it is eleven to thirteen. Reverse it for a thirty-second “are you open?” enquiry and the per-minute vendor charges about 18 cents where Smith.ai charges nearly two dollars. Work out your average call length before choosing a pricing model.
How long does it take to set up an AI receptionist?
Hours to a few days for the general services, and weeks for the vertical ones. Dialzara includes a one-to-one setup call with a prompt engineer on every paid plan, Rosie adds a dedicated onboarding specialist on its $299 tier, and Smith.ai provides full-service setup on Enterprise. At the other end, Numa says dealerships typically go live in two to three weeks because of the DMS, scheduler and CRM integration work involved.
How to choose
Work through it in this order.
Count your calls and time them. Everything else follows from monthly call volume and average call length. Without those two numbers you cannot tell whether per-minute or per-call pricing is cheaper, and you will buy on brand instead of arithmetic.
Decide which calls the AI gets. After hours, overflow and second line is the high-confidence configuration, because the alternative is voicemail. Replacing a human answer during business hours is a different decision with a real cost in goodwill.
Then pick on price and fit. Rosie at $49 for most small businesses, Dialzara at $29 to test, Goodcall at $79 for long or repeat calls, Smith.ai at $150 for law firms and long calls, Abby Connect at $165 where you need human fallback, Slang.ai for restaurants, Numa for dealerships.
Use the trial properly. Seven or fourteen days is enough to hear your real callers, not your own test calls. Ring it yourself from a noisy street, have someone with an accent ring it, and ask it whether it is a real person — then check it answered honestly.
Configure the escape hatch first. Transfer and escalation are the difference between a useful AI receptionist and an expensive complaint generator, and 89% of consumers say companies should always offer a route to a person.